Honorary members

Prof.DR. Bernhard Fleckenstein

since 1998, dece. 2021

On the initiative of Bernhard Fleckenstein, the GfV was founded in 1990 as a separate scientific society for virology, which he then chaired as its founding president. He has had a decisive influence on the subject of virology in Germany and Europe, representing the interests of virology in many scientific committees and playing a decisive role in the founding of the "European Society for Virology (ESV)". Together with his wife Ingrid, Bernhard Fleckenstein established a foundation for Funding young virological researchers (PhD Award of Society of Virology e.V. (GfV) | Society of Virology e.V. (g-f-v.org).

 Prof. Dr Volker ter Meulen

since 2011

Volker ter Meulen was the first chairman of the GfV's Commission "Research and Young Scientists" after it was founded in 1990. He has very actively represented virology in many committees and also continuously promoted it as the longstanding president of the Leopoldina.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Harald zur Hausen

since 2013

Harald zur Hausen was on the founding advisory board of the GfV, which was established in 1990. In 2008, he received the Nobel Prize for Medicine for his work on the etiological role of HPV in the development of cervical cancer.

Prof. Dr Reiner Thomssen

since 2003

Reiner Thomssen was the first Chairman of the Commission "Continuing Education and Training" and Director of a large microbiological and virological institute in Göttingen. Together with Wolfram Gerlich, he himself developed and produced the first HBV vaccine and used it in studies. He has represented the entire breadth of microbiology and virology extremely knowledgeably, also in clinical terms.

 Prof. Dr Hans J. Eggers

verst. 2016

Hans J. Eggers was on the founding advisory board of the GfV, which was established in 1990. He held one of the first human virology chairs in Germany in Gießen. His scientific focus was antiviral therapy and molecular biology of picornaviruses at a time when antiviral therapy was considered impossible. He was very committed as a clinical virologist and was an impressive research personality and scientific teacher.

 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Rudolf Rott

deceased 2003

Rudolf Rott was the first chairman of the newly founded Section IV "Virology" in the DGHM in 1977, which can be regarded as the predecessor organisation of the GfV. He then represented the interests of the subject of virology as founding advisor of the GfV, which was founded in 1990.

 Prof. Prof. Dr Werner Schäfer

deceased 2000

Werner Schäfer inspired groundbreaking work on avian influenza and retroviruses as a veterinary virologist. He was director at the Max Planck Institute for Virus Research in Tübingen and teacher of numerous German virologists.

Contact

Fragen, Feedback und Wünsche können Sie per Mail (geschaeftsstelle@g-f-v.org) oder mit dem Kontaktformular an uns adressieren.

7 + 14 =

Ehrenmitglieder

Prof.DR. Bernhard Fleckenstein

seit 1998, verst. 2021

Auf Initiative von Bernhard Fleckenstein wurde die GfV 1990 als eigene wissenschaftliche Fachgesellschaft für Virologie gegründet, der er dann als Gründungspräsident vorgestanden hat.Er hat das Fach Virologie in Deutschland und Europa maßgeblich geprägt, in dem er u. a. die Interessen der Virologie in vielen wissenschaftlichen Gremien vertreten und entscheidend bei der Gründung der „European Society for Virology (ESV)“ mitgewirkt hat. Bernhard Fleckenstein hat gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Ingrid eine Stiftung zur Förderung junger virologischer Forsche gegründet (Promovendenpreis der Gesellschaft für Virologie e.V. (GfV) | Gesellschaft für Virologie e.V. (g-f-v.org).

 Prof. Dr. Volker ter Meulen

seit 2011

Volker ter Meulen war der erste Vorsitzende der Kommission „Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs“ der GfV nach ihrer Gründung 1990. Er hat die Virologie sehr aktiv in vielen Gremien vertreten und auch als langjähriger Präsident der Leopoldina kontinuierlich gefördert.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Harald zur Hausen

seit 2013

Harald zur Hausen war im Gründungsbeirat der im Jahr 1990 gegründeten GfV. 2008 hat er den Nobelpreis für Medizin für Arbeiten zur ätiologischen Rolle von HPV bei der Entstehung von Gebärmutterhalskrebs erhalten.

Prof. Dr. Reiner Thomssen

seit 2003

Reiner Thomssen war erster Vorsitzender der Kommission „Fort- und Weiterbildung“ und Direktor eines großen mikrobiologischen und virologischen Institutes in Göttingen. Gemeinsam mit Wolfram Gerlich hat er selbst einen ersten HBV-Impfstoff entwickelt, hergestellt und in Studien angewendet. Er hat die gesamte Breite der Mikrobiologie und Virologie äußerst kenntnisreich auch in klinischer Hinsicht vertreten.

 Prof. Dr. Hans J. Eggers

verst. 2016

Hans J. Eggers war im Gründungsbeirat der im Jahr 1990 gegründeten GfV. Er hat in Gießen einen der ersten humanvirologischen Lehrstühle in Deutschland besetzt. Sein wissenschaftlicher Schwerpunkt war die antivirale Therapie und Molekularbiologie von Picornaviren zu einer Zeit, als antivirale Therapie für unmöglich gehalten wurde. Er war als klinischer Virologe sehr engagiert und war eine eindrucksvolle Forscherpersönlichkeit und wissenschaftlicher Lehrer.

 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Rudolf Rott

verst. 2003

Rudolf Rott war erster Vorsitzende der in der DGHM 1977 neu gegründeten Sektion IV „Virologie“, die als Vorgängerorganisation der GfV zu betrachten ist. Er hat dann die Interessen des Faches Virologie als Gründungsbeirat der im Jahr 1990 gegründeten GfV vertreten.

 Prof. Prof. Dr. Werner Schäfer

verst. 2000

Werner Schäfer inspirierte als Veterinärvirologe wegweisende Arbeiten zur Geflügelpest und Retroviren. Er war Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Virusforschung in Tübingen sowie Lehrer zahlreicher deutscher Virologinnen und Virologen.

Kontakt

Fragen, Feedback und Wünsche können Sie per Mail an die unten stehende E-Mail-Adresse oder mit dem Kontaktformular an uns adressieren.

GfV-Heidelberg@med.uni-heidelberg.de

10 + 2 =